WUS-2020 Presentations

9:00 - 10:00


10:00 - 11:00
Inauguration Ceremony

• Mr. Anand Kumar, IAS, Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Government of India

• Mr. Prakash S Mhaske, Chairperson,Central Electricity Authority

• Mr. Mritunjay Kumar Narayan, IAS, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Power, Government of India

• Dr.JörgPolster, Head of the Economics Department, German Embassy

• Mr. Michael Satin, Director, Clean Energy and Environment Office, USAI

• Mr. R.K.Chugh , President, IEEMA

• Mr. Anil Saboo, ELECRAMA, Chairman

• Mr. Vikram Gandotra , Chair, WUS 2020

• Dr.KannanTinnium , Co-Chair, WUS 2020

• Mr. ManjitSethi, Convenor, WUS 2020

11:00 - 11:30

Tea/ Coffee Break

11:30 - 13:00
Plenary Session 1 - Market Enablers

Keynote Address–Mr. Allen Eisendrath
Director, Utilities Services, Corelli Systems and former Director of Global Climate Change, Energy & Infrastructure, USAID/Washington.

Session Moderator-

Mr. Vikas Gaba
Partner, KPMG India


Dr. Arbind Prasad,
Jharkhand State Electricity Regulatory Commission, India

Mr. Ajwad Mushtafa
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Government of Republic of Maldives

Ms. Wasantha Perera
Secretary, Ministry of Power & Energy, Government of Sri Lanka

Mr. Vibhu Kaushik
Director, Grid Technology & Modernization, Southern California Edison, USA

Mr. Arindam Maitra
Senior Technical Executive, Electric Power Research Institute, USA

Mr. Paul Nelsen
Vice President, Sales, Commercial and Customer EnablementAPAC, ITRON, APAC Region

13:00 - 14:00

Networking Lunch

14:00 - 14:15

Special Session on “Transforming Power Distribution Business through Employee Engagement- 5 S STORY” by Mr. Amal Sinha, CEO, BSES Rajdhani Power Ltd, India.
Watch related Video Here: https://youtu.be/bXuBo0VjZDw

14:15 - 14:30

Special Session on “Smart Grid Readiness- Self Assessment Tool for Utilities”
by Mr. Atul Bali, Senior GM, National Smart Grid Mission, Ministry of Power,
Govt of India

14:30 - 16:00
Plenary session 2 – Revenue Security

Keynote Address–Mr. R. Lakshmanan
IAS, Executive Director, REC Ltd, India


Mr. Suman Ghorai
Director, CRISIL Ltd, India


Mr. Bikash Dewan
MD, Dhaka Power Distribution Company, Bangladesh

Mr. Sonam Tobjey
CEO, Bhutan Power Corporation Limited, Bhutan

Mr. Elad Shaviv
CEO, Israeli Smart EnergyAssociation, Israel

Mr. Gagan Bihari Swain
Head, Regulatory, Strategy & Govt Affairs, BSES Yamuna Power Ltd, India

Dr. Marcus Merkel
Merkel Consulting and Senior Advisor to the Board of Management EWE NETZ GmbH, Germany

16:00 - 16:30

Tea/ Coffee Break

16:30 - 18:00
Plenary Session 3– Grid Transformation - Renewables and Electric Vehicles

Keynote Address–Mr. Robert Klaffus
CEO, Siemens Digital Grid, Germany


Prof. Martin Braun
HOD, Fraunhofer IEE Kassel, Germany


Mr. K.V.S Baba
CMD, Power Systems Operation Corporation Ltd, India

Mr. Ramji Bhandari
Director, Planning and Technical Service Department, Nepal Electricity Authority, Nepal

Mr. Siriwat Chedsi
Assistant Director, Power Plant Engineering Division, Electricity Generating Authority of Thailand

Mr. Akilur Rahman
Chief Technology Officer, ABB Power Products and Systems India Ltd, India

Ms. Prabhjot Kaur
CEO, Centre for Battery Engineering and Electric Vehicle, IIT Madras, India

19:00 onwards
Gala Dinner at Crowne Plaza, Greater Noida
19:00 - 19:10
Welcome by Mr. Vikram Gandotra, Chair, WUS 2020
Presentation by Platinum Sponsor– Mr. Robert Demann, Smart Infrastructure, Siemens Ltd India
19:10 - 20:00
CEO Round Table – Power Utility Leaders’ Dialogue

• Mr. Bhadresh B. Chauhan, MD, Gujarat Energy Transmission Corporation Ltd, India

• Mr. Ravinder Kumar Sharma, MD, Himachal Pradesh Power Transmission Corporation Ltd, India

• Mr. Debashish Banerjee, MD, Distribution, CESC Ltd, India

• Mr. R.C. Agarwala, MD, Noida Power Company Ltd, India

• Mr. Prem R. Kumar, CEO , BSES Yamuna Power Ltd, India

9:00 - 9:30


9:30 - 11:00
Plenary Session 4 – Enabling Technologies - Digitalization & Cyber security

Mr. Ketan Shah
MD, Accenture, India

Mr. P.K. Agarwal

CIO, Power Systems Operation Corporation Ltd, India

Prof. Sebastian Lehnhoff
Full Professor, Energy Informatics, Carl-von-Ossietzky-University of Oldenburg, Germany

Mr. Ian Mcleod
Director, Smart Energy,Enzen, Australia

Mr. Rajesh Bansal
Head Network Operations, BSES Rajdhani Power Limited, India

Ms. Sanna Öörni
Co-creation Manager, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

11:00 - 11:30

Special Address – Mr. Mahendra Jain, IAS, Energy Department, Government of Karnataka

11:30 - 12:00

Tea/ Coffee Break

12:00 - 13:30
Plenary Session 5 – Energy Transition Policy and Operational Standards

Keynote Address-
Ms. Palka Sahni
IAS, Executive Director, Power Finance Corporation, India

Mr. Somesh Kumar
Partner, Ernst & Young, India

Ms. Anjuli Chandra
Member, Punjab State Electricity Regulatory Commission, India

Mr. Arun Kumar Mishra
Director NPMU, National Smart Grid Mission, India

Dr. Bernhard Ernst
Group Manager Grid Planning and Operation, Fraunhofer IEE, Germany

Mr. Sam Sciacca
Senior Director, Technical Program Operations, IEEE Standards Association, USA

Mr. Vimal Mahendru
Member, IEC Standardization Management Board, India

13:00 - 13:30

Networking Lunch

14:30 - 15:00

Special Session - Mr. Pranav Parikh, Dy. Manager (BD) Electrical Research & Development Association (ERDA)

15:00 - 16:30
Plenary Session 6 – Energy Storage (Joint Session with eTechNxt)

Energy storage have versatile role in to play in operating grids and providing value to all the stakeholders. This include balancing demand and supply, regulating frequency, managing renewables and providing autonomy for consumers. Energy storage will also play a very important role in achieving full potential of new and upcoming technologies. This track will cover the latest developments in technologies, new business models, grid dynamics, learnings from pilot demonstrations and operational considerations associated with these technologies.

Keynote Address-
Mr. Sanjay Banga
President T&D, Tata Power Mumbai, Indiay

Dr. Rahul Walawalkar
India Energy Storage Alliance

Mr. Chakphed Madtharad

Manager, Smart Grid Planning Division System Planning Department, Provincial Electricity Authority, Thailand

Dr. Jochen Bard
Head of Energy Process Engineering, Fraunhofer IEE, Germany

Mr. Sharma Kolluri
IEEE Fellow, Manager, Transmission Planning, Entergy, USA

Mr. Manish Kumar Tiwari
General Manager, Smart Grid, Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd, India

Mr. Rupam Raja
Market Director, India & SE Asia, Fluence Energy, India

Dr.R. Nagaraja
Chair, IEEE PES India Chapters Council and MD, PRDC

16:30 - 17:00

Valedictory Session & Closing